CHURCH OF THE HOLY NAME OF JESUS
The Chiesa del Santissimo nome di Gesù (Church of Holy Name of Jesus) is one of the most interesting historic buildings in Ancona. Located opposite the Palazzo degli Anziani, in Piazza Stracca, the church was commissioned in 1605 by Count Nappi.
In the middle of the 18th century, Pope Clement XII put Luigi Vanvitelli in charge of modernizing the city. Among the landmarks built or redesigned by the famed architect, such as the Mole Vanvitelliana and the Clementine Arch, the Chiesa del Gesù was renovated in 1743.
Built with white Istrian stone and brick, the facade and its convex portico represent the arch of the inlet of the port. The high portico, which covers the main gate and the staircase, is supported by two Doric columns and double corner pillars.
The church is shaped like a Latin cross, covered by a barrel vault with lunettes, with side chapels. In the main altar there is the painting “Circumcision” by Orazio Gentileschi. One of the side chapels contains a canvas painted in 1700 by Sebastiano Conca, the “Departure of St. Francis Xavier for the Indies”.
Saturday and Sunday from 10 am to noon
From April to October the church is open on Sunday from 10 am to 1 pm.
Reasons to visit:
- One of the main landmarks in Ancona
- A masterpiece signed by Luigi Vanvitelli
- It’s in the heart of the city, near the port
LET’S DISCOVER ANCONA TOGETHER?
THE 16 FORTRESSES
The forts of Ancona, its walls and their places that tell us about the life of this city.
TRAVELING WITH CHILDREN?
Discover Ancona through the wonder of children; here are the places we recommend you visit.